Our Mission

LFIA takes action for a stronger Los Feliz

People working together to celebrate the diverse community, unique environment and shared stories of Los Feliz

The Los Feliz Improvement Association (LFIA) has proudly served the Los Feliz community through advocacy and action for more than 100 years.  The volunteer-run nonprofit, a 501c3, remains one of the oldest and most influential organizations in Los Angeles.

We’re not shy about taking a stance on issues that affect our everyday lives.  We work in the community and behind the scenes to ensure that Los Feliz remains the vibrant and diverse neighborhood that we all love.

Our three motivating pillars are:


LFIA protects and cares for our landmark Deodar Cedars on Los Feliz Boulevard.  With the country’s largest municipal park right in our backyard, we actively advocate for our treasured Griffith Park.


LFIA organizes community clean-up days, speaks out on traffic and safety issues, sponsors high school scholarships, and is involved in seeking homelessness solutions.


Living in the midst of beautiful and diverse architecture, we maintain records of our historic residences and are spirited keepers of photos showing past and present life in Los Feliz.

LFIA welcomes all residents of Los Feliz to become members and join one of our committees.  Click here to see ways in which you can get involved.  Your participation and support is vital to retaining the character and vibrancy of our Los Feliz!

Neighborhood Issues We Care About

  • Healthy Deodar Cedars along Los Feliz Boulevard
  • Griffith Park Activism
  • Homelessness Solutions and Assistance
  • Thoughtful Development and Neighborhood Character
  • Traffic and Safety Resolutions
  • Our Local Schools
  • Historic Preservation and Neighborhood Archives

LFIA is tax-exempt as a public charity under Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Service Code. 


2023 – 2024 Board of Directors

  • Debra Matlock,
  • Amy Gustincic,
    First Vice President
  • Lynne T. Jewell,
    Second Vice President
  • Donna Kolb,
    Coordinating Secretary
  • Marian Dodge,
    Recording Secretary
  • Donald Seligman,
  • Matthew Eskander
  • Philip Gasteier
  • Ray Hovsepian
  • Melody King
  • Alex Kondracke
  • Chris Laib
  • Elizabeth Lovins
  • Deanne Paul
  • Joel Rochlin
  • Karen Stetler
  • Karen Voskanian
  • Sam Wasserman